Meal Plan Monday – Week 3

I’m proud to say this week’s meal recap is a little better than last week’s. Of course, because I actually made food more often, I didn’t get around to taking many pictures. Can’t have it all, I suppose.

Monday: Spaghetti with lentil sauce (no recipe). Monday is pottery class night, so I started boiling some lentils and let Will handle the rest after I left. We used to put soy crumbles in our spaghetti sauce to replace ground beef. We’ve also used Gardein frozen veggie meatballs, which are delish. But a really easy, healthy way to replace ground beef is with lentils. I boil up a cup of lentils until they’re almost cooked but still a little firm, add a jar of Trader Joe’s spaghetti sauce (Whole Foods 365 brand is good, too), and simmer a few more minutes until the lentils are cooked. Then I top spaghetti with it. And scoop it up with about half a bag of Trader Joe’s whole wheat Tuscan bread.

Tuesday: Trader Joe dinner hack Stuffed Peppers via A Cup of Jo. Yea, yea. My Trader Joe’s passion may be out of control. This “recipe” is quite good. Not out of this world. But good considering that it’s 4 ingredients, and the only thing you can’t keep in your pantry is the peppers. As it goes with Monday’s lentil spaghetti, I feel all Super Woman-ish when I’m able to run to my pantry and whip up dinner from what I already have.

Wednesday: Leftovers

Thursday: Tempeh Reubens with Cashew Cheese and Honey Balsamic Roasted Brussels Sprouts on the side. I omitted the butter (for the bread) and swiss cheese to make it fully vegan. I also used a vegan thousand island style dressing rather than making the recipe she has on the website. Ain’t nobody got time for that. I did get bold and made the cashew cheese. Supes easy. Do it. Just remember to soak the cashews the night before. I can’t get used to it quite yet on it’s own… but it’s darn good on the sandwich. And the overall consensus on this sandwich? Will’s quote was, “Daaaaaamn!” So. It’s pretty good.

img_9528

Friday: Happy hour at The Half Door with the Pook.

Saturday: Pook-free date “afternoon” running errands and other boring stuff. Which necessitated after-errands bevs and snackies at The Corner Pug.

Sunday: I was planning to make tofu sandwiches, but since Will was feeling like pasta, we whipped up spaghetti with a jar of Trader Joe’s sauce, and snacked on crackers with TJ’s Olive Tapenade and Artichoke Antipasta on the side.

And because of the lack of photos, two-toothed raccoon Pook:

img_3311

Have a great/tasty/healthy-ish week!

Leave a Reply

