Meal Plan Monday – Week 4

Last week marked the last full week before we get the new apartment. Which means it’s also the beginning of living in a sea of boxes and not knowing where the hell anything is. This week I plan to get by with the crockpot and maybe 1 pan… so last week’s dinners were the most normal they’ll be until we’re settled at the new place. (I will not order takeout, I will not order takeout, I will not order takeout…)

This menu got a quick adjustment early in the week when I realized we were going to get a couple inches of snow. Rarely do I not opt for chili when it’s snowy out. We’d be really sick of chili if we lived further north.

 

MondayWill was out of town this night and I had pottery class. So I think dinner was mostly Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat Tuscan Bread dipped in their Edamame Hummus. With a side of Bordeaux red, thank you very much.

Tuesday: 4 Bean Crockpot Chili. It’s my go-to for cold weather. I usually use frozen lima beans as the 4th bean, but swapped out chickpeas this time. I also use a whole wheat pasta of whatever shape suits my fancy, and always top it off with avocado. Because avocado rocks my socks off.vsco-photo-1-2

Wednesday: Leftovers.

Thursday: Farro Stuffed Acorn Squash (prepare yourself for way too many words about this recipe)… I started with a recipe from Pinterest, but altered it some to be better. If I do say so myself. I had this badass stuffed acorn squash at the Pond House in Elizabeth Park here in Hartford a couple months back, and I’ve been meaning to replicate it. Considering I’ve slept a couple of times since then (with many interruptions during these sleeps, mind you), I can’t quite remember what was in it… Seems I need to go back to the Pond House for another round. So I started with the recipe here, but used farro in place of the quinoa (Trader Joe’s 10 minute farro, to be exact). I’m quickly falling in love with this lesser-used grain. The flavor and texture reminds me a little of barley, but nutritionally it compares to quinoa. It’s a great source of fiber and protein. Note: you’ll want to cook farro like you would pasta – cook to al dente, then drain. Don’t plan on measuring out the water precisely and letting it all soak up like it’s rice or quinoa or most other grains.

On top of the farro sub, I eliminated the feta/goat cheese to make it vegan (I plan to make Food 52 Vegan Cookbook’s tofu feta recipe for this in the future, but I haven’t been able to find any effing white miso! I’ll have to Prime that ish.), and added dried cranberries and avocado. I didn’t consider the cranberries until after I took the picture, but they do take this recipe up a notch with their sweetness. I’m all about the drizzle of honey, too, although a true vegan diet eliminates honey. Morally, I don’t have any issues with eating honey. So the jury’s out on whether I’ll choose to stop eating it when we’re full-on vegan creatures. This was fantastic, BTW. And way less intimidating than it seems. It’s relatively hands off, and most time is spent waiting for everything to cook. In other words, a recipe you can make whilst keeping a baby alive. Highly recommend.image1

Friday: BBQ Tofu Sandwiches with coleslaw. I’ve cooked the tofu in a skillet, per the recipe, and have also tried baking it in the oven. Either way turns out well. For the slaw, I use bagged slaw mix, add about 1/4 cup Trader Joe’s Goddess dressing (which happens to be vegan – booya), 1/4 cup dried blueberries/cranberries, and 1/4 cup sunflower seeds/slivered almonds. Trader Joe’s also has a slaw-in-a-bag type of situation that includes all the parts and is supes tasty. Will puts the slaw on the sammie. I eat it on the side. It’s a free country.vsco-photo-1-1

Saturday: We drove around the state to do a little exploring this day. Until we moved here, I didn’t realize CT was so scenic! There are mountains! And hills! And lots and lots of trees! Wild. Anyway, we discovered a delightful little restaurant called Quercibella with badass flatbread pizza, charming wait staff that offered to puree some vegetables for Charlie, and great wine options.

Sunday Breakfast: Sweet Potato Tofu Scramble with Tempeh Bacon. This was all deeeelish, but there are several things I’ll do differently with the scramble next time. The onions and cumin give it good flavor, but I’ll add black beans, maybe a little pico, and (surprise, surprise) avocado to the mix next time. I’m actually planning to whip these leftovers into a breakfast burrito for dinner tonight. I’ll let you know how it goes.vsco-photo-1-3

Sunday Dinner: Super Bowl. Thus, a plethora of dips and a plethora of dippables. Plus wine.

 

Have a great/tasty/healthy-ish week!

2 thoughts on “Meal Plan Monday – Week 4

  1. I feel you on the honey dilemma. I was in the same conundrum until I visted a vegan restaurant in my neighborhood. They actually use local honey in a few of their recipes to support the dwindling bee population. For this reason, I have personally chosen to continue using small amounts of honey, but always from a local farmer! Just some food for thought!

    Like

Leave a Reply

