Meal Plan Monday – Week 6

Not to toot my own horn here, but I’ve been on a roll with finding badass new recipes lately. And here I am to graciously share them with the world (and by “world”, I mean the 3 people that read this blog, which includes my mom and grandma). On Tuesday, I also worked with movers to get all our furniture from the old apartment to the new one from 9AM-6PM while simultaneously taking care of a baby, joining in on a conference call for work, and I made dinner. I’m basically a super hero. Lots of horn-tooting around these parts. While I continue to pat myself on the back here, see below for last week’s recipes:

 

Monday: Black Bean Burritos. I’m not sure I’ve ever actually shared anything about these, but they’ve been an “I’m too tired to think of something else to make, and we have all the ingredients already” kind of recipe since right after we got married. That was almost 8 years ago. Cray. Anyway it involves the following:


Lazy Black Bean Burritos

Ingredients:

  • 1 can black beans, drained & rinsed
  • sprinkle of cumin
  • 1 can Rotel diced tomatoes with chiles, drained
  • 1 bell pepper, diced
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • a handful of cilantro, chopped
  • whole wheat or corn tortillas
  • vegan shredded “cheese” (or plain nonfat Greek yogurt, if you’re not doing the vegan thing)

Directions:

  1. Heat up the black beans with a sprinkle of cumin.
  2. Put the things together and wrap it in a tortilla. Because it’s a burrito. It really doesn’t require a recipe.

 

Tuesday: White Quinoa Chili. I’ve got two go-to chili recipes, and this is one of them. Even when the grocery fails to stock Poblanos (which has happened the last two times I’ve made this), some additional smoked paprika with a dash of Worcestershire and this still tastes awesome. Naturally, I top it with avocado.vsco-photo-1-6

Wednesday: Leftovers

Thursday: Vegan Mac & Cheese. I’ve been eager to find a butternut squash mac & cheese recipe, and this one also subs in vegan alternatives for milk and butter. No cheese or other dairy whatsoever, and this recipe seriously rocks my socks off. I used the recipe linked above, but used Barilla ProteinPlus elbows, Smart Balance olive oil spread, and lite soy milk instead of almond milk. With the changes I made, it comes out to about 500 calories, 10g fiber, and 24g protein per serving… and a serving is 1/4 of the entire recipe! That’s a ton of food, people. I topped it off with a solid amount of black pepper for flavor. And yes, this is a terribly unappetizing picture of it.Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Friday: Sweet & Spicy Southwest Chili (Ignore the inaccurate photo at this recipe link… updating some of the recipes is on my to-do list at work this week). I’ve got a couple vegan chili recipes up my sleeve, but this one is new. I needed to test and photograph it for work anyway, so I gave it a try and loved it! The best part is you don’t have to cook up anything ahead of time. It all gets dumped into the Crockpot at once. img_9732

Saturday: Day trip to New Haven… it’s possible that IKEA had something to do with the reason for our visit. But we also checked out Yale’s campus, which is B-freaking-eautiful. There happens to be some fabulous food located in the area. We went to Rubamba for an awkwardly timed 3PM “linner” and it was superb! I got the Beans Arepa and Will got the Veggie Portobello Burrito. The atmosphere leaves a lot to be desired, and the bathroom situation is totes disgusting and involved a traumatizing bathroom floor diaper-changing experience, but I’d go back for the arepas. Note to self for next time: They don’t have booze. Normally this would not be my type of establishment, but arepas.

Sunday: Tomato, Kale Sandwich with Parsley Pesto (& Cashew Cheese). This one is great to keep ingredients on hand and throw together any day for lunch. It involves whipping up some simple parsley pesto (much cheaper than basil pesto if you’re buying all your herbs at the grocery as opposed to growing them, btw) and cashew cheese, which will keep for at least a few days in the fridge. I’m including my own cashew cheese recipe below, because I’ve fiddled around to find what I like best. Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Cashew Cheese 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup raw unsalted cashews, soaked overnight in water
  • 2 T nutritional yeast
  • 3 T lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • several tablespoons water, to thin out as you like it

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in food processor (I do mine in a Bullet blender, so I can store it in the same container in the fridge.)
  2. Blend until smooth. Boom.

 

Have a great/tasty/healthy-ish week!

Leave a Reply

