Meal Monday… Okay, Snack Monday.

Due to a bout of Carnival Season depression, increase in blogging/recipe testing/photography for work (yay!), and general life activities, Meal Monday has been tossed to the curb for a while. And probably run over a few times. I may hop back on it soon, but for now I wanted to share this quick and easy hummus recipe. I’ve been known to spend a great deal of money on hummus at Trader Joe’s (there are soMany. Flavors!). Like $10/week. Which isn’t a huge amount of money until you consider that I’m spending $520/year on hummus. Omg. To ease up on our budget, I figured I should utilize the food processor that basically lives on my counter anyway as a result of baby-food-making mania. I was inspired both by Molly Yeh’s cookbook and Food 52 Vegan Cookbook, but it’s still been altered as my own.

My Basic Hummus

Makes: A whole bunch. Enough to eat now, then actually put the rest in the fridge and pick at the rest of the week. Or serve it to your friends, if you’re a nice person.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 cup tahini
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup lemon juice, depending on if you planned ahead and bought enough lemons (I don’t. Ever.)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1-2 tsp smoked paprika, to your liking

Directions:

  1. Add the first 7 ingredients to a food processor, and blend until nice and smooth. Add a little more water if you’d like it thinner.
  2. Pop in your smoked paprika and blend again. Give it a taste test to see if you need more.
  3. EAT IT. NOW.

 

Leave a Reply

